2015 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship winners announced

Every year UFCW Canada offers 18 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarships worth $1,000 each to members and their families to help with the costs of post-secondary education (to apply for the 2016 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship, click here).

Allocated by regions across Canada, this union scholarship is named in honour of three past leaders of our union: William Beggs, Fred Dowling, and Roméo Mathieu.

As Canada's leading and most progressive union, UFCW Canada is proud to announce the 18 recipients of the 2015 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship, listed below.

2015 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship winners

Western Region Ontario
Name Local Union Name Local Union
Eljae Joshua Baza 401 Courtney Dryden 175
Remi Garlock-Cisna 1400 Isabel Andariza 175
Natalie Luong 1518 Emily Azevedo 12R24
Brody Osadick 832 Georgina Camacho Ibarra 333
Jenna Olsen 247 Giuseppe Sipione 206
    Ellen James 1000A
Quebec Atlantic Region
Name Local Union Name Local Union
Josue Noel 501 Kristen Richards 1252
Sophie Bouchard 501 Nicole Domingo 864
Megan Bond 500    
Saufiane Bouchour 500    
Eve Boily 503    

Announced December 1, 2015

"Congratulations to this year's recipients," says UFCW Canada National President Paul Meinema. "Our union knows that education is empowering, and that is why we are committed to helping UFCW Canada members and their families pursue their educational goals," he adds.

The application process for the 2016 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship is now open. To find out more about this renowned union scholarship, or to apply online, click here.