2016 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship winners announced

Every year UFCW Canada offers 18 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarships worth $1,000 each to members and their families to help with the costs of post-secondary education (to apply for the 2017 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship, click here).

Allocated by regions across Canada, this union scholarship is named in honour of three past leaders of our union: William Beggs, Fred Dowling, and Roméo Mathieu.

As Canada's leading and most progressive union, UFCW Canada is proud to announce the 18 recipients of the 2016 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship, listed below.

2016 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship winners

Western Region Ontario
Name Local Union Name Local Union
Simon Diersch 247 Tyler Nankishore 175 & 633
Bryce Giesbrecht 1400 TBA  
Joel Goshulak 1518 Hailey McAuley 175 & 633
Harindu Gunasekara 401 Lauren Karl 12R24
Madison Hoffmeyer 1400 Maida Krdzalic 1006A
    Christine Baskin 102
Quebec Atlantic Region
Name Local Union Name Local Union
Alexandra Laplante 500 Trevor Atwater 864
Joanie Lessard 500 Matthew Phillips 1288P
Elizabeth Lagarde 1991P    
Jean Bélanger 501    
Marilou Deschamps 501    

Announced November 25, 2016

"Congratulations to this year's recipients," says UFCW Canada National President Paul Meinema. "Education is empowering, and that is why UFCW Canada is committed to helping members and their families pursue their educational goals," he adds.

The application process for the 2017 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship is now open. To find out more about this renowned union scholarship, or to apply online, click here.